Print Page   |   Contact Us
Community Search
License Renewal
Share |

 

DOPL License Renewal Requirements

R156-31b-301b. RN License – Education, Examination, and Experience Requirements.
(4) An applicant who has been licensed previously in Utah, but whose license has expired or lapsed, shall:

(a) if the applicant has not practiced as a nurse for up to five years, document current compliance with the continuing competency requirements as established in Subsection R156-31b-303(3);

(b) if the applicant has not practiced as a nurse for more than five years but less than eight years: (i) pass the NCLEX-RN examination within 60 days following the date of application; or (ii) successfully complete an approved re-entry program;

(c) if the applicant has not practiced as a nurse for more than eight years but less than 10 years: (i) successfully complete an approved re-entry program; and (ii) pass the NCLEX-RN examination within 60 days following the date of application; or

(d) if the applicant has not practiced as a nurse for 10 years or more, comply with this Subsection (1).

The question we always ask in this situation is "when is the last time you worked as a nurse?"  We also require that they provide verification of the last time they worked as a nurse (e.g., a letter from HR).

The Practice Act and Rule are available at:http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/nursing.html


 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT

RNs and LPNs: Required one of the following:

  • 400 hours of licensed practice, or
  • 200 hours of licensed practice plus 15 contact hours, or
  • 30 contact hours every two year licensing period.

APRNs:

  • Must maintain national certification, and
  • Must be currently certified in specialty area, or
  • Must complete 30 hours of CE (if licensed prior to 7/1/92) and 400 hours of practice each licensing period.
FOR MORE INFORMATION:

Please contact the Utah State Board of Nursing at 801-530-6628 or http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-31b.pdf for more information.

 


 

 

30 Contact Hours to Renew License

Utah Nurses Association offers a module for 30 Contact Hours of continuing education to RN’s and LPN’s to renew their licenses.

This new 2015 CE Anthology will satisfy the 30 contact hours requirement to renew your license. It offers timely information about health care and is accredited by ANCC. Included in the packet will be a test, a bubble answer sheet and an evaluation sheet. After taking the test and answering the evaluation sheet, you will mail them to UNA for grading. The certificate we provide you will be all you need to renew your license. The cost of the module is $200.00 plus $10.00 for shipping and handling.  Please contact us at 801-272-4510 or email una@xmission.com. 

 

Utah Nurses Association

is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation. The Utah State Board of Nursing accepts courses from any provider who is ANCC-accredited.

 


 

 


 

UNA Calendar

10/19/2017
UNA Executive Board Meeting

11/16/2017
UNA Executive Board Meeting

12/21/2017
UNA Executive Board Meeting

1/18/2018
UNA Executive Board Meeting

2/15/2018
UNA Executive Board Meeting